ICC U-19 World Cup: Traditional Haka dance welcomes captains as tournament gets underway in New Zealand

first_imgHaka, the traditional war dance in Maori culture of New Zealand, greeted the captains of the participating teams of the ICC Under 19 World Cup, which start January 13 in Christchurch.Prithvi Shaw walked out onto the Hagley Oval in Christchurch, with captains of 15 other nations for the welcome event ahead of the World Cup.WATCH VIDEOThe tournament sees 10 Test playing sides (prior to Afghanistan and Ireland’s recent inclusion) along with Namibia (best finishing non-Test playing side from the 2016 event in Bangladesh) having gained automatic qualification. The 11 sides have been joined by five regional qualifiers – Kenya (Africa), Canada (Americas), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), Afghanistan (Asia) and Ireland (Europe).The captains emerge and receive a traditional Maori welcome as the #U19CWC welcome event gets underway in Christchurch! pic.twitter.com/6SWxSEfPRW- Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) January 7, 2018What better way to get #U19CWC kicked off than with a haka! �??? pic.twitter.com/FIXG3X541v- Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) January 7, 2018India, who are have won the tournament most number of times along with the Aussies, are in Group B with Australia, Zimbabwe and East Asia Pacific qualifier Papua New Guinea. The three-time champions will open their campaign against Australia on January 14 in Christchurch. They will next face Papua New Guinea on January 16 and Zimbabwe on January 19. India will play two warm-up games – South Africa, on 9th January and Kenya, on January 11.Hosts New Zealand are in Group A along with South Africa, Kenya and defending champions West Indies. While, England in Group C have been dealt an easy task, with Bangladesh, Canada and Namibia completing their list.  Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan are all in Group D with Ireland.advertisementThe skippers get their hands on the prize for the cameras! �??� �?�? pic.twitter.com/rgBKH6wIMt- Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) January 7, 2018New Zealand will start off preceding at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui on January 13 and the top two sides from each group will advance to the Super League while the remaining eight teams will figure in the Plate Championship. The final will be played at Bay Oval in Tauranga on 3 February while both semi-finals will be played at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on January 29 and January 30.The plate tournament will run concurrently but end with the final at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Christchurch on January 28. Australia and India have both won the tournament three times each, Pakistan have won it two times, while the West Indies, South Africa and England have won it once each.Festivities over at the Hagley Oval, time for the captains to answer some questions for the �??� #U19CWC #FutureStars pic.twitter.com/FPOzKjt8YX- Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) January 7, 2018Virat Kohli , who had famously lead India to the title back in 2008, met India’s current captain, Prithvi Shaw, ahead of the team’s departure.”The players that will take part in the 2018 edition in New Zealand will have another opportunity to showcase their talent in front of the world and really look to stand out from the bunch, I think that should be the mindset of each and every player because it does present an opportunity,” he had said on the occasion.India U-19 Squad: Prithvi Shaw (captain), Shubman Gill (vice captain), Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Aryan Juyal (wicket-keeper), Harvik Desai (wicket-keeper), Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Pankaj Yadav.last_img